City Council


  • Regular Meetings
    1st and 3rd Thursdays, 6:00 p.m.
    City Council Chambers, 911 N 7th Avenue
  • Work Sessions
    2nd Thursdays, 9:00 a.m.
    City Council Chambers, 911 N 7th Avenue

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


2020–2021 City Council: Linda Leeuwrik, Rick Cheatum, Roger Bray, Claudia Ortega (back row); Heidi Adamson, Brian Blad, Chris Stevens (front row)

NOTE: A photograph of the 2022–2023 City Council will be posted shortly.

About the Council

The 6 members of the City Council work part-time and function as the legislative body of the City.

City elections are held in the fall of odd numbered years. The Mayor and City Council Members are elected at-large, on a non-partisan basis for 4-year terms. Each Council Member is elected to a specific seat, but the seats do not represent geographic areas, which means all 6 Council Members represent the entire community.


The mission of the Mayor & Council Department is to exercise executive management of the municipal corporation by creation and implementation of vision and policy, service to constituents, distribution of corporate communication, stakeholder involvement and management of day-to-day operations.

Mayor/Council Form of Government

Pocatello has chosen the strong mayor/council form of government. The 6 members of the City Council work part-time and function as the legislative body of the city. The Mayor is the full-time administrator managing the day-to-day activities of the city. While the Mayor chairs the City Council meetings and sets the meeting agenda, the Mayor may only vote in the case of a tie.

Mayor Brian Blad

Mayor Brian Blad was elected into office November 2009. His current term ends in 2021. Learn more about Mayor Brian Blad.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact Mayor Blad via email, call 208-234-6163, or stop by his office at City Hall.